APPROVED BY THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE ON 1.11.2024

Oregon State Bar Government Law Section Executive Committee Board Meeting December 14, 2023 – 3:35 p.m. – 4:00 p.m. Via Zoom

DRAFT MINUTES

Executive Committee Members:

Brad Anderson, Chair, Present **Patty Mulvihill**, Chair-Elect, Absent **Lauren King**, Treasurer, Present **Kelly Sherbo**, Secretary, Absent Tommy Brooks, Past Chair, Present Eric DeFreest, Absent Jodi Gollehon, Present Hope Whitney, Absent Haley Percell, Present James Brewer, Absent Kirk Mylander, Present Caroline Floyd, Absent McKenzie Granum, Present James Forrester, Absent Lauren Sommers, Present David Doughman, Present Doug McGeary, Absent

Oregon State Bar Staff:

Dan Atkinson, Present

Guests:

None

- 1. Attendance Confirmation. Chair Anderson called the meeting to order at 3:35p.m. with a quorum of committee members present. Chair Anderson asked who was taking minutes. Haley Percell indicated that she had been contacted by Kelly Sherbo and asked to take minutes in Kelly's absence and Haley Percell agreed to take minutes.
- 2. Call for Changes to the Agenda. No changes were requested to the agenda.
- **3. Approval of Prior Minutes.** Chair Anderson reported that Secretary Sherbo noted that the minutes sent out to the committee were revised to add start and stop times in the heading, spell Shelby Rihala's name correctly, and asked whether Doug McGeary attended the November meeting. Doug McGeary did not attend the November meeting. No other changes were proposed to the draft minutes. Jodi Gollehon moved to approve the minutes; Tommy Brooks seconded the motion. Motion approved unanimously.
- 4. Treasurer's Report. Treasurer King reported that we have received a request for a donation from the Campaign for Equal Justice. Treasurer King reported that we have a budget of \$2,500 for charitable contributions for the year, but we had just spent that down, so we have no more money in our charitable contributions budget line item for 2023. We do have remaining money in other categories. Dan Adkinson was asked if we

could use money from other budget categories to make the donation. Dan Adkinson was unsure, but he will find out.

Motion made by Tommy Brooks to make the contribution of \$1,500 to the Campaign of Equal Justice if it is allowable; Lauren Sommers seconded the motion. Motion approved unanimously.

Treasurer King reported that she submitted check requests for other contributions, no word from the bar yet about whether those checks went out.

5. Old Business.

A. Nominating Committee. McKenzie Granum updated the section on the nomination committee's work.

McKenzie Granum said all nominations were approved. The new officers are Patty Mulvihill – Chair, Lauren King - Chair-Elect, Brad Anderson – Past Chair, Kelly Sherbo – Treasurer, Haley Percell - Secretary. New members: David Koch (Prosper Portland), Laura Westmeyer, Cindy Lin, replacing Kirk Mylander from CIS.

B. 2024 Budget. Treasurer King

Treasurer King reported that the 2024 budget was approved and submitted to the bar, but she has not received confirmation from the bar yet.

6. New Business.

A. Annual Report/OSB Survey. Chair Anderson

Chair Anderson will get the annual report out shortly. Tommy Brooks will share with Chair Anderson what we have done in the past.

Chair Anderson received a survey from the Oregon State Bar Association regarding the support the committee receives from the Oregon State Bar Association. Dan Atkinson isn't aware of the survey. Treasurer King suggested that Chair Anderson mention the bar's lack of responsiveness on inquiries regarding finances.

B. Legislative Activities Discussion. Chair Anderson

Kirk Mylander updated the group on his work addressing the impacts of the *Fields v. Newport* case. CIS is recommending that improved trails be closed, entities should consult with their legal counsel, looking for a legislative fix in 2024 to remedy what court did to recreational immunity in *Fields*. There will be a bigger bill in 2025. Kirk Mylander sent information to the committee for review. Lauren Sommers asked if Kirk could share the CIS advice with the entire government law section committee and he said he would do so.

C. Thank You to Outgoing Members. Chair Anderson

Chair Anderson recognized members cycling off the committee as a result of reaching their 9year limit. Kirk Mylander is leaving because he is too busy, but Cindy Lin will represent CIS on the committee in his place. Thank you to Kirk Mylander for his service. Tommy Brooks is leaving because he has reached his maximum of nine years on the committee. Eric DeFreest has also reached his maximum of nine years on the committee. Hope Whitney termed out because she did not become an officer. She has the opportunity to return to the committee in the future.

- 7. Next Meeting. The next meeting is scheduled for January 11th, 2024, at 3:30 p.m. via video/teleconference.
- 8. Adjourn. Chair Anderson adjourned the meeting at 4:00 p.m.